Amazon and Barnes and Noble FREE and Discounted Children’s Ebooks (Thursday, May 23)


When The Storm Passes

Julie Jett

Price: FREE

If you had asked me if a historical fiction novel could be successfully written about events less than a year past, I would have been skeptical. You needn’t be. When The Storm Passes could be considered a touching coming-of-age story that happens to coincide with living through a natural disaster… or a true-to-life first-person account of a natural disaster that happens to hasten the transition of a girl to adulthood. Both would be correct, and both story lines are equally realistic and effective.
I grew up in the area around where this story takes place, and I vouch for that fact that it presents small-city life in middle America warmly and genuinely, if perhaps exaggerating the everyone-knows-everyone feel of a city that is the shopping and medical center for the region. Geographical and historical details are accurate, if left vague to avoid identifying specific individuals or businesses. And Jett truly captures the raw emotions, awe and surrealism of living through an F-5 tornado and its aftereffects.
Do not expect to get through this novel without tearing up or full-out sobbing, unless you are immune to such things. While fictional, the personal tragedies and triumphs of Jett’s Avalie Milner will certainly ring true with many real people who have lived through such an experience. It is difficult not to identify with her, and when she makes what most would consider mistakes, it is hard to imagine that anyone else in her place would act differently.
But if this book were simply a tribute to tornado survivors, then perhaps only those survivors would be interested in reading it. That is not the case. This story stands alone as a humbling reminder of the power of nature and the heartening nature of real human kindness and love. Read it… and weep.

Michael Garoutte

It’s May 22, 2011, in Joplin, Missouri, and thirteen-year-old Avalie Milner has just finished dinner. Within minutes, a mile-wide tornado will change her life.

After being rescued from the rubble of her home, Avalie sets out on a mission: to find her loved ones, to restore her home, and to survive on her own in a world that will never be the same.

In her debut novel, Joplin-area native Julie Jett chronicles the destruction of Joplin, the character and heart of its people, and the story of a young girl who finds her way home. A portion of profits from this novel will support Bright Futures, Rebuild Joplin, and the Joplin Humane Society – organizations which are actively working in Joplin to help children, schools and pets affected by the storm.

NOTE: Please check the price before downloading; the price is subject to change.

Download Now Kindle


Samantha Loses the Box Turtle (Samantha Series of Chapter Books)

Daisy Griffin

Price: FREE

All in all, this is a good book, one I’m sure my younger sister would have devoured back during her turtle days, and one I’m sure my younger brother will enjoy reading.

Kendra E. Ardnek

When Samantha’s grandfather finds a box turtle on a busy street the only thing to do is bring him home. Sam’s mom says that he has to be let go, but not before zany drama ensues. You’ll have to read to find out how Samantha Loses the Box Turtle!
Samantha Loses the Box Turtle is a children’s chapter book filled with fun and adventure while teaching about the lovable critter, the Eastern Box Turtle. It is broken up into 11 chapters, which contain 15 wonderful illustrations by Matthew Gauvin.

Also included at the end of the book are Box Turtle Fun Facts and a Quiz to help further your child’s reading enjoyment.

Book #1 of the Samantha Series.

NOTE: Please check the price before downloading; the price is subject to change.

Download Now Kindle


Old Yeller

Fred Gipson

Price: $1.99

This heart-warming book is about Old Yeller, (Which mean ‘Yellow’ in those days) a stray golden-brown dog which Travis’ little brother (Little Arliss)finds. Travis hates the dog, who they named ‘Old Yeller’, until Old Yeller saves Travis’ life. Soon they are best buddies, but the fate that is awaiting at the end brings them apart. This book is perfect for ages 7 and up, and is a terrific day-to-day read. This has 16 exciting chapters for either read aloud or silent reading. If your lookin’ for a book to read, It’s Old Yeller.

A Customer

At first, Travis couldn’t stand the sight of Old Yeller

The stray dog was ugly, and a thieving rascal, too. But he sure was clever, and a smart dog could be a big help on the wild Texas frontier, especially with Papa away on a long cattle drive up to Abilene.

Strong and courageous, Old Yeller proved that he could protect Travis’s family from any sort of danger. But can Travis do the same for Old Yeller?

NOTE: Please check the price before downloading; the price is subject to change.

Buy Now Kindle

Buy Now Nook


The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe: The Chronicles of Narnia

C.S. Lewis

Price: $5.67

The first book in the famous allegorical Chronicles of Narnia fantasy series for children. Four English school children (Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy) visit an old Professor to avoid the air raids in London during World War II. They discover an “entrance” to a world of fantasy through a wardrobe. It is a world that will change them forever. They assist the golden lion Aslan to defeat the White Witch who has cursed Narnia with eternal winter: the classic conflict of good vs. evil. This is the first in the Chronicles to be published. However, “The Magician’s Nephew” relates events that take place before the events in this book and many, including the publisher, suggest that individuals read that book first. I disagree. I think the series flows much better when read in the order of their publication. As one reads the series, particularly with the last volume, one become more attuned to the spiritual aspects of the tales. And in responce to muchadoaboutlisa from Australia (of May 6, 1999), as we can tell from the last volume, Narnia does exist.

R.D. Allison

Illustrations in this ebook appear in vibrant full color on a full color ebook device, and in rich black and white on all other devices.

Narnia . . . a land frozen in eternal winter . . . a country waiting to be set free.

Four adventurers step through a wardrobe door and into the land of Narnia, a land enslaved by the power of the White Witch. But when almost all hope is lost, the return of the Great Lion, Aslan, signals a great change . . . and a great sacrifice.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is the second book in C.S. Lewis’s The Chronicles of Narnia, a series that has become part of the canon of classic literature, drawing readers of all ages into a magical land with unforgettable characters for over fifty years. This is a stand-alone read, but if you would like to explore more of the Narnian realm, pick up The Horse and His Boy, the third book in The Chronicles of Narnia.

NOTE: Please check the price before downloading; the price is subject to change.

Buy Now Kindle

Buy Now Nook

Don't miss an ebook deal! Subscribe to eReader Girl via RSS or by email.
Read Newer Post
Read Older Post