Amazon and Barnes and Noble FREE and Discounted Children’s Ebooks (Thursday, May 16)


There’s a Baby in Mommy’s Belly!

Flo Barnett

Price: FREE

This book is fantastic. The little boy in the story can’t comprehend how a baby could end up in his mommy’s tummy and has quite a struggle learning to believe it. As she gets bigger and bigger, he has to finally admit that there is definitely something going on. I loved this book for a couple of different main reasons. First, my kids acted exactly the same way when I was pregnant. They really didn’t believe that there could be a baby in there! Flo Barnett hit the nail on the head with the way the little boy reacted to the idea. Secondly, the way he figures out that there really is a baby in his mom’s tummy is so perfect. My own children had the same experience.
This book has bright and happy illustrations that my kids thought were cute. The main character is funny and the story has a good rhyme that is quite fun to read out loud. If you have a new addition coming to your own family, the other children will surely appreciate this book.
I like that the little boy is not put to the side with all of the excitement over the new baby. This book will help teach a child that being a big brother or sister is an important job too. Can’t recommend it enough. Perfect!

Ionia Martin

NOTE: Please check the price before downloading; the price is subject to change.

Download Now Kindle


The King’s Secret

Anupama Ajinkya Apte

Price: FREE

I was not familar with this fable but it is a great tale about working with what you have. The illustrations are very good and you can’t beat the price!


A picture book for children.

Maharajah Kanpakad Singh was keeping a big secret, which was neatly folded and tucked inside his huge custom made crown. The secret was revealed in an unusual way on his very special day.

The story is based on an Indian folktale.

NOTE: Please check the price before downloading; the price is subject to change.

Download Now Kindle


Oz: The Complete Collection (All 14 Oz Books, with Illustrated Wonderful Wizard of Oz, and Exclusive Bonus Features)

L. Frank Baum

Price: 99 cents

I am old enough to remember the first time I saw Dorothy open the door to Oz. It was the first time I saw Technicolor. After seeing the movie I asked my mom to find the book. Mom said I was too young to read it, so I asked my Grandma. She got the book and we spent hours and hours reading it. She helped me with the words, and this memory is now repeated with my Grand Children.

Lois A. Appelbaum

Fans of L. Frank Baum’s Oz books, you are in for a treat. Collected here is the ultimate Kindle edition of the beloved series starring such timeless characters as Dorothy, the Tin Man, the Scarecrow, the Cowardly Lion, and the Wicked Witch of the West.

Included in OZ: The Complete Collection are:

All fourteen Oz books written by L. Frank Baum.
The first book, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, is illustrated with the classic W.W. Denslow artwork.
Links to free, full-length audio recordings of all the Oz books in this collection.
An individual, active Table of Contents for each book accessible from the Kindle “go to” feature.
Perfect formatting in rich text compatible with Kindle’s Text-to-Speech features.
A low, can’t-say-no price!

Fourteen Complete Works

All fourteen of L. Frank Baum’s Oz books, in order and unabridged. Books included:

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900)* Includes Original Illustrations by W.W. Denslow!
The Marvelous Land of Oz (1904)
Ozma of Oz (1907)
Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz (1908)
The Road to Oz (1909)
The Emerald City of Oz (1910)
The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)
Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)
The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)
Rinkitink in Oz (1916)
The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)
The Tin Woodman of Oz (1918)
The Magic of Oz (1919)
Glinda of Oz (1920)

Beyond the Yellow Brick Road

Also included are special features for any Oz enthusiast, including:

A complete list of all Oz books in the official canon by other authors.
A list of Oz films and television series, both directly and indirectly inspired by L. Frank Baum’s masterpiece.
Links to free, full-length audio recordings of all the Oz books in this collection.

NOTE: Please check the price before downloading; the price is subject to change.

Buy Now Kindle

Buy Now Nook


Shadows & Secrets (Annals of Wynnewood)

Chautona Havig

Price: 99 cents

The characters in this Christian adventure series are engaging and believable. Parents will appreciate Philip’s loyalty, work ethic, unfailing integrity, and faith in his God. Young readers will appreciate his sense of adventure and his bravery. The books provide a mostly-realistic look into daily life in medieval England, along the lines of Lord of the Rings — complete with detailed maps and ancient vocabulary, alphabetic characters and spellings, but without the wizards.
The books are evangelical in nature, as opposed to many books in the Christian fiction genre which let you know, within the realm of the tale, that they are Christian, but never go much more in-depth than that. It is Philip’s desire to see his non-Christian friends and neighbors come to know Christ and accept God as the one true God. The reader will find familiar Bible stories retold in varying degrees of detail, such as Noah and the Ark and the Battle of Jericho.
I found the books to be well-written page-turners that would capture and maintain the interest of young readers. I enjoy a book where the personalities of even the secondary characters are well-developed and interesting, which I found to the case in the Annals of Wynnewood books.

Kris @ Weird, Unsocialized Homeschoolers

No one knows what the cloaked creature is or why it is so terrifying. The villagers of Wynnewood only know that they must stay away from ‘the creature’ for fear of their physical and spiritual safety. An unfortunate encounter with a dragon introduces Philip Ward to the creature, and to his surprise, he finds a friend, confidante, and companion in more adventure than he’d ever dreamed possible. Follow Philip and the creature as they rescue a lame child, discover ‘pirate treasure’, and test the mettle of true friendship Shadows & Secrets is the first book in the Annals of Wynnewood

NOTE: Please check the price before downloading; the price is subject to change.

Buy Now Kindle

Buy Now Nook

Don't miss an ebook deal! Subscribe to eReader Girl via RSS or by email.
Read Newer Post
Read Older Post